6, May 2023
25th State Karate championship organised by Karate Association of Bengal

Karate Do Association of Bengal (KAB) organized it’s glorious Silver Jubilee and official “25th West Bengal State Karate Championship” at the Sidhu Kanu Indoor Stadium (City Centre, Durgapur, Paschim Bardhaman) on 29th & 30th April 2023.

KAB is the one and only authentic Karate Association in the state of West Bengal which is duly recognized by Bengal Olympic Association (BOA) and Karate India Organisation (KIO).

The occasion was graced by various dignitaries which included the following:-

– Mrs Anindita Mukherjee (Chairperson, DMC, Durgapur) as the “Chief Guest”

– Hanshi Premjit Sen (President of KAB) as the “Special Guest”

– Hanshi Joydeb Mondal (General Secretary of KAB) as the “Guest of Honour”.

It is the hard work and eagerness of both, Hanshi Premjit Sen and Hanshi Joydeb Mondal, that Bengal Karate is at its peak. They have always stood beside all the players, coaches and officials in their time of need, including the dreaded Covid19 pandemic. They both have given opportunities to all the players to train with world class coaches, which include WKF & Olympic-level Coaches.

Around 1700 players of all age groups of boys and girls, coming from all the affiliated districts of KAB, participated in this event. 100 National Level, 7 Asian Level and 1 World Level Referee and Judges conducted the whole event under the able supervision of Hanshi Premjit Sen, who is the only Bengali to become a World Karate Federation (WKF) & Asian Karate Federation (AKF) Referee & Judge, both.

All the officials, referees and judges were given honorarium along with t-shirts to all the players, style chiefs and district representatives. Moreover, KAB will also sponsor the players and coaches, who will get a chance to participate in the National, with their Transportation, Food, Accommodations, T-Shirts and other expenses.

Amidst tough competition, North 24 Parganas District emerged Champion followed by Kolkata District as 1st Runner-Up. Murshidabad District & South 24 Parganas District were declared the 2nd Runners up of this historic event.

Leave a Reply